



#### Senate Meeting Minutes | April 5, 2023

_	ATTENDANCE	-						
	Name	Div/Term		Name	Div/Term		Name	Div/Term
1	Lori Clark (President)	2022-2024	~	Margaret (Peggy) LeMoyne	HP/MSE 2022-2024	1	Diane Flahaven	UAF2, HP/MSE 2022-2024
1	Stacey Shah (1st VP)	2022-2024	>	Chris Cunningham (Parliamentarian)	HP/MSE 2022-2024	1	Tara Latto	UAF2, HP/MSE 2022-2024
_	Jessica Carpenter (Social Media Coordinator) - Spring 2023 Sabbatical	CABS 2022-2024	~	Luis Martinez	HP/MSE 2022-2024	<i>✓</i>	Terri Birch (2 <sup>nd</sup> VP, Membership)	UAF2, LVPA 2022-2024
1	Ryan Kerr (Chief Negotiator)	CABS 2021-2023	~	Kimberly Tarver	HP/MSE 2022-2024		Jeffrey LaRocque	UAF2, LVPA 2021-2023
1	Ruby Sanny	CABS 2021-2023		VACANT	HP/MSE	1	Janice Petit- Sollenberger	UAF2, LVPA 2022-2024
1	Len Fitzpatrick	SBCT 2022-2024	~	Les McTighe	LVPA 2021-2023	1	Tammy Ray (Webmaster)	UAF2, SBCT 2021-2023
1	Patrick Gordon	SBCT 2022-2024	>	Susan Robinson	LVPA 2021-2023	1	Jason Walczak	UAF2, SBCT 2022-2024
<ul> <li>Image: A start of the start of</li></ul>	Clark Hallpike	SBCT 2022-2024	1	Steve Wood (Treasurer)	NON-VOTING 2022- 2024	1	Lisa Del Giudice	UAF1 2021-2023
	VACANT	SBCT	~	Laura Haske (Secretary)	NON-VOTING 01/2021	1	Janice Amos	UAF1, LVPA 2021-2023

Member Guests: Kris Campbell, Kathleen Demars, Antonio Ramirez, Mia Hardy, Manuel Salgado

Visitor: Julia diLiberti

### 1. VISITOR: JULIA DILIBERTI, PRESIDENT ICCFA (ILLINOIS COMMUNITY COLLEGE FACULTY ASSOCIATION)

- a. ICCFA Background. <u>ICCFA</u> is an advisory board of faculty from 48 community colleges to the Illinois Community College Board (ICCB). ECC faculty are members of the association. Terri Birch serves as an ECC representative on the ICCFA board. Dr. Sam & Dr. Heinrich support the board's work. ICCFA's annual conference will likely be in Peoria this fall.
- b. ICCFA Recruitment. ICCFA is looking for community college faculty board members from across the state. If you know of faculty at other Illinois community colleges who might be interested in

volunteering to serve on the board, please get the word out. Board meetings are on the second Friday of every month via Zoom.

### 2. ANNOUNCEMENTS

- John Duffy Retirement Reception. Mr. Duffy has served on the ECC Board of Trustees for 48 years. RSVP to Amy McConnell by Wednesday, April 7, to attend the Monday, April 10 reception. The reception starts at 5:30 pm.
- b. One American Transition. Investment funds, with performance and fees, can be viewed on MyElgin: <u>HR One America Documents</u>.
- c. CARLI Survey. The Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) has invited all Illinois not-for-profit higher education institutions to survey their students using their "Illinois Course Materials Survey: Student Perspective." Faculty may distribute the survey throughout 2023; it can be shared during more than one academic term.

Additional information about the survey is available on the <u>project website</u>. Faculty are welcome to join a CARLI survey information session:

- i. April 11, 2:00-3:00 p.m. Information Session 1
- ii. April 13, 10:00-11:00 a.m. Information Session 2
- iii. April 20, 10:00-11:00 a.m. Information Session 3
- iv. April 27, 10:00-11:00 a.m. Information Session 4
- v. Registration is not required. Zoom link for all sessions: Join Zoom Meeting | Meeting ID: 829 5710 0443 | Password: 966597
- d. ECCP-3 Membership. If you are not a member already, we hope that you will consider joining ECCP-3, which works to protect our pensions. If you are interested in joining, please contact Lori Clark for a membership form.
- e. Achieving the Dream Coaches Visit. Monday, April 24, from 4:00 pm 5:00 pm. Join with this Zoom link | Meeting ID: 951 2523 4918.
- f. Board of Trustee Meetings. The ECCFA membership is encouraged to attend Board of Trustee meetings. The days, times, and locations of upcoming meetings are here: <u>ECC Board of Trustees</u>. To help ECCFA track membership representation at these meetings and for a calendar reminder, please sign up using <u>this form</u>.

## 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

a. Chris moved to approve the minutes from the March 22, 2023, senate meeting. Luis seconded. The motion carried.

## 4. TREASURER'S REPORT

a. The treasurer's report was accepted.

#### 5. PRESIDENT'S REPORT: LORI CLARK

a. Attended: full contract negotiations and Dr. Sam meeting (topic: library concerns).

#### b. 1st Vice President's Report: Stacey Shah

i. Attended: full contract negotiations and course capacity meeting.

#### 6. COMMITTEE REPORTS

#### a. Negotiations: Ryan Kerr

i. Negotiating Status. The negotiations team met with administration the Friday before spring break for eight hours and made progress. They should be able to wrap things up soon.

#### b. COPE: Antonio Ramirez & Mia Hardy

- i. Tammy moved to adjourn to COPE. Luis seconded. The motion carried.
- ii. ECCFA Candidate Success. All four candidates ECCFA endorsed won their seats. Early support was key. Thank you to everyone who helped by attending the fundraiser, donating money to COPE, volunteering to text, phone bank, send postcards, and post on social media. The candidates expressed their gratitude for ECCFA's support.
- iii. Early Voting Site. ECC had the highest mobile voting turnout in Kane County. It got students engaged in the election.
- iv. Tammy moved to adjourn from COPE. Luis seconded. The motion carried.

#### 7. ELECTION & COMMITTEE REQUEST

a. ECCFA Election Results. Peggy moved to approve the election results listed below. Terri seconded. The motion carried.

#### SLAAC

HPMSE	Kris Campbell
HPMSE	Catherine Incapreo
CABS	Liddy Hope
CABS	Jeannie Anderson
LVPA	Open
SBCT	Open
SBCT	Open
SBCT	Open
ARIT	Open
ARIT	Open

## Sick Bank

SBCT	Ranae Ziwiski
CABS	Nick Obradovich
HP/MSE	Catherine Moushon
LVPA	Susan Robinson
UA2	Amanda Smothers
UA1	Deyana Matt

## Honors

LIBRARIAN Beth Huitman	LIBRARIAN	Beth Hultman
------------------------	-----------	--------------

## Curriculum

SBCT	Chris Clark
SBCT	Open
LVPA	Amy Brandolino
LVPA	Marc Beth
LVPA	Open
CABS	Open
CABS	Open
ARIT	Maria Ashton-Stebbings
HPMSE	Laura Meyer
HPMSE	Mary O'Sullivan
HPMSE	Ed Kroll
ABEC	Sarah Burkhart

## Grievance

ARIT	Stacey Shah
SBCT	Laura Haske
UA1	Open

## **Faculty Development**

CABS	Marta Walz
CABS	Marc Healy
HPMSE	Masoud Naseri
HPMSE	Chris Purdy
LVPA	Ignacio Alvarez Garcia
LVPA	Travis Linville

SBCT	Gary Norden
UAF	Janice Petit-Sollenberger

## Senate

Schate	
SBCT	Dave Reich
CABS	Ryan Kerr
CABS	Ruby Sanny
CABS	Open
LVPA	Susan Robinson
LVPA	Les McTighe
HPMSE	Margaret Le Moyne
UA2	Amanda Smothers
UA2	Tammy Ray
UA1	Lisa Del Giudice

# 8. Adjournment

a. Diane moved to adjourn the meeting. Tammy seconded. The motion carried.