



December 4, 2019

Senate Meeting Minutes

Name	Div/Term	Name	Div/Term	Name	Div/Term
Kimberly Tarver (President)	Pres., 2018- 2020	Kris Campbell	HP/MSE, 2018- 2020	Danielle Straub	UAF2, CABS 2018-2020
Ellie Swanson 1 st VP	LRIE/A/CEWD, 2019-2021	Ryan Kerr	CABS 2018- 2020	Baudelaire Ulysse, 2 nd VP	UAF2, LVPA 2018-2020
Clark Hallpike	SBCT, 2018- 2020	Pat O'Brien	CABS, 2019- 2021	Terri Birch	UAF2 LVPA 2018-2020
Patrick Gordon Negotiations Chair	SBCT, 2018- 2020	Ruby Sanny	CABS, 2019- 2021	Tammy Ray	UAF2, SBCT 2019-2021
George Rosa Grievance Co- Chair	SBCT, 2018- 2020	Manuel Salgado	CABS, 2019- 2021	Mary Elfring	UAF2, CABS 2019-2021
Mary Arndt (Secretary)	HP/MSE 2018- 2020	Susan McGrath (3 rd VP)	UAF1, HP/MSE 2018-2020	Bruce McLane	UAF2 2019-2021
Susan Robinson	LVPA, 2019- 2021	OPEN	UAF1	Kate Thommes	UAF2 2019-2021
Les McTighe	LVPA, 2019- 2021	XXX	XXXX	OPEN	UAF2
Luis Martinez Grievance Co- Chair	HP/MSE, 2018- 2020	XXX	XXXX	OPEN	UAF2
Nicole Scherger	HP/MSE, 2018- 2020	XXX	XXXX	OPEN	UAF2
Steve Wood	Treasurer (non-voting)	XXX	XXXX	XXXXX	XXXXX

Absences and Substitutions: Absent: Terri Birch, Steve Wood. Mike Marin substituted for George Rosa.

Recognition of Visitors & Guests: Daniel Hernandez, UA2 Surgical Technology, ECC graduate: Teaches mainly offsite; occasional labs. He is here to experience the ECCFA Meeting and has expressed interest in becoming a Senator.

Kim Tarver called for a motion to approve Daniel Hernandez as a UA2 Senator. Kris Campbell made this motion. Ryan Kerr seconded. Motion approved. Joyce Fountain, Professor II of Sociology, announced her retirement and will be taking her leave shortly. She expressed thanks for the support she has received from ECCFA over the years.

Secretary's Report: Mary Arndt

• Approval of November 20, 2019 Meeting Minutes Mary Arndt cited some spelling errors she needed to correct in the 11/20/19 minutes.

Kris Campbell moved to approve the minutes with these amendments. Tammy Ray seconded. Motion was approved.

Treasurer's Report: Steve "Woody" Wood: No report

President's Report: Kimberly Tarver

- 1. Communication from David Davin proposing foundation support for an event such as EOS Party or Beginning of Semester event to support Complete to Compete launch. Kim Tarver will tell David that ECCFA discussed this proposition. More information will be gleaned by Kim regarding this topic.
- 2. Attending discussions relating to administration's decision to eliminate Digital Technologies department; restructuring includes OAT courses and programs to sunset or migrate to CIS or BUS (fall 2020). ECCFA role has been contractual in nature and in support of faculty impacted by the changes. A qualification audit of faculty members will be done to determine teaching opportunities for current faculty. An educational attainment plan may be needed for some faculty. Seniority of a faculty member is determined by time at the college, not a department.
- 3. VP TLSD/CHRO meeting: shared concerns regarding Spartan Alert/Early Alert, contract clarification, eTalent, seniority list inaccuracies, participation with cultural competence workshops, TLSD reorganization
- 4. Supplemental Assignment Chart negotiations meeting
- 5. Grievance Committee meeting

1st Vice President's Report: Ellie Swanson

- 1. Met with VP TLSD and CHRO. Items discussed included: administrative personnel changes; Tableau usage; seniority lists; and Spartan Alert follow up.
- 2. Participated in supplemental assignment chart discussions.
- 3. Participated in program reduction discussions.
- 4. Fielded questions from faculty on various topics.

2nd Vice President's Report: Baudelaire Ulysse

Finalized and distributed constituency lists to UAF2 Senators. Emailed all UAF2s with names of their respective Reps along with contact information.

3rd Vice President's Report: Susan McGrath: Still does not have a list of UA1s from HR, though it was requested.

Committee Reports

Negotiations: Patrick Gordon: Making progress with the supplemental assignment chart. Negotiating specific compensation for Skills USA participation.

Grievance: Co-Chairs Luis Martinez & George Rosa:

Trying to schedule a meeting with CHRO Anthony Ray regarding issues with some ECCFA members' compensation.

An administrator was requiring mandatory attendance at department meetings of UAF1s and UAF2s. Contract does not allow for this. This is being discussed with VP of TLSD and CHRO to determine clarification of this practice.

COPE: Chair, Luis Martinez: No report

Elections & Committee Requests

- 1. On 11/26/2019, Kris Campbell moved to approve Jason Kane and Tina Ballard to serve on the Textbook Cost Committee by email. The motion passed by email vote.
- 2. On 11/26/2019, Baudelaire Ulysse moved to approve Bruce McLane to serve on the Safety Committee by email. Ryan Kerr seconded the motion. The motion passed by email vote.
- 3. Committee Openings
 - a. COPE Chair
 - b. Retiree Chapter "Faculty Guide" to support establishment and transition.
 - c. Curriculum Committee: Health Professions vacancy 1 full time or UAF member can fill the seat.
 - d. Faculty Development will need a UAF member for spring 2019.

OLD BUSINESS

 End of Semester Party, Friday, 12/13/19 at Carmina's! The fun begins at 4:00. Karaoke! Appetizers! Cash Bar!

NEW BUSINESS

Kris Campbell reminded Senators that all compensation for each time a faculty member does extra contractual work has to be negotiated with ECCFA.

DIVISION ISSUES

• IDENTIFY VACANCIES ON COMMITTEES & RECRUIT IN PREPARATION FOR OPENING DAY; IDENTIFY POTENTIAL CANDIDATES FOR SPRING ELECTION.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Retirees: John Dailey, English UAF, Peggy Dee, Art UAF, Joyce Fountain, Sociology FT, Nancy Reid, Art UAF, Marjorie Schildknecht, Public Services Librarian FT, Gerald Stevens, Economics UAF, Michael Kalland, Business UAF, Denise Thorsen, Foreign Language UAF, Mary Peterhans, Digital Technologies UAF, Warren Peto, Adult Basic Education UAF
- Congratulations to NISOD Award Recipients: Marc Beth Assistant Professor II of Music, Lori Jones Math Unit Adjunct Faculty, John Long – Director of Student Success & Judicial Affairs, Lisa McCarthy-West – Professor I of Nursing, David Zacker – Professor II of Humanities
- Congratulations to FY21 Sabbatical Recipients: Alison Douglas, Professor I of English Spring 2021, Dan Kernler, Professor I of Mathematics Spring 2021
- Save the Date! Gary D. Christenson Room Dedication Ceremony, January 6, 2020, 4:30 PM, @ ECC Building H, Room H142. Visit <u>http://garychristenson.family</u> for details

ADJOURNMENT:

Senate Meetings for AY 2019-2020

Les McTighe moved to adjourn. Tammy Ray seconded. Meeting adjourned at 4:30 pm.

SPRING 2020: Jan 8, Jan 22, Feb 5, Feb 19, Mar 4, Marc 18, Apr 1, Apr 15, Apr 29, May 13