



ECCFA Senate Minutes Senate Meeting: Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Sarah Dye, President, presiding

Gary Norden Frank Aleman Pat O'Brien **Mary Arndt Rick Bonnom Chad Pearion** Michele Brynelsen Joel Peck **Lori Clark** Miroslav Rezac Julie DeLong **Joyce Ross** Len Fitzpatrick **Howard Russo** Linda Hefferin **Armando Trejo Cindy Hutman Cathy Tomasik Dan Kocher Glenn Turner David Lawrence Scott Vaszily Luis Martinez Cassie Watson**

Absent: Carl DeCarlo, Marcia Luptak, Loretta McCallister, Vicki Walker

Meeting called to order by Sarah Dye at 3:08

Visitors:

Kim Tarver; George Rosa Katie Storey; Nancy Alanis, Clark Hallpike (Embracing Cultures on Campus: 2 activities: Multicultural Lock-In and Conference)

Secretary's Report: Lori Clark

Russo made a motion to approve the corrected October 5, 2011 minutes. Rezac seconded. Corrected minutes approved with 4 abstentions.

Treasurer's Report: Linda Hefferin

- Report attached at the end of the agenda.
- Report accepted.

President's Report: Sarah Dye

1st Vice President's Report: Luis Martinez 2nd Vice President's Report: Dan Kocher

3rd Vice President's Report: Cassandra Watson

Committee Reports

The following Committees had reports for the October 19, 2011 meeting:

Achieving the Dream: Linda Hefferin & Sarah Dye

Alliance for College Readiness: Tina Ballard (for Alison Douglas)

• Communication Liaison: Gary Christenson

Grievance: Howard Russo & Susan Ford

Honors: Johanna Cummings

MAGIC: Kim Tarver & Clark Hallpike

Membership: Connie Orbeta
 Negotiations: Luis Martinez
 Sentinel: Bill Demaree

Social Media Jessica Carpenter

Strategic Planning Committee: Elizabeth McNulty& Phil Garber

Webmaster: Tammy Ray

Special Orders

Approval of committee members (could be treated as Consent Agenda)

- 1. Search committee for the part-time position International Student Specialist/Homestay Coordinator (Chair: Lauren Nehlsen): Patti Jachowicz
- Tenure Committee for Kevin Hunter(Graphic Arts fulltime temporary position) (Dean Mary Hatch): Tim Kaar (Instructional Coordinator); Connie Orbeta; Tina Leverennzi
- 3. **IFT ULI:** Kim Tarver (Union Leadership Skills)
- Martinez moved to accept items 1 and 3 as a consent agenda. O'Brien seconded. Approved.
- Martinez moved to approve items 1 and 3 in the consent agenda. Bonnom seconded. Approved.

Tenure Committee

Hefferin moved to accept the tenure committee for Kevin Hunter. Martinez seconded. Approved with one nay
vote.

COPE

- Martinez moved to adjourn to COPE. Rezac seconded. Approved.
- Adjourned to COPE at 3:52 pm.
- Russo moved to adjourn from COPE. Martinez seconded. Approved.
- Adjourned back to regular meeting at 4:04

Old Business

2013-2014 Academic Calendar

Telecourses

Minutes

- Russo moved to try this new system with sending out abbreviated minutes. Lawrence seconded...
- Approved.

New Business

Newspaper issues Faculty Success Series Luis Martinez Absence AccessECC

Division issues

Adjournment:

- Russo motioned to adjourn the October 19, 2011 meeting. Peck seconded. Approved.
- Meeting adjourned at 4:47 pm

Respectfully submitted by Lori Clark, ECCFA Secretary