



SENATE MEETING AGENDAJANUARY 14, 2015
3:00 PM - 5:00 PM, ROOM C-120

Call to Order: Luis Martinez

ROLL CALL:

Elizabeth Becker, Heidi Brelsford, Jessica Carpenter, Mary Elfring, Diane Flahaven, Sue Ford, Patrick Gordon, Clark Hallpike, Liddy Hope, Jennifer Jeschke, Maria Kazmi, Terri Martin, Loretta McCallister, Luis Martinez, Christina Marrocco, Dawn Munson, Patricia O'Brien, Mary O'Sullivan, Joel Peck, Warren Peto, Roger Ramey, Joyce Ross, Howard Russo, Danielle Straub, Eleanor Swanson, Kimberly Tarver, Scott Vaszily, COPE: Joyce Fountain, Web Master: Tammy Ray

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & GUESTS

REPORTS -

SECRETARY'S REPORT: KIM TARVER- APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 26, 2014 MEETING (RECORDED BY JESSICA CARPENTER)

The following motions were made electronically upon the recommendation of Luis Martinez, President and were moved and second by Scott Vaszily and Howard Russo: 1) Members Ruby Sanny, Dennis Lynch, Keith Lewis, Manuel Salgado, and Anu Gupta to serve on the Academic Policy Committee Panel; 2) Clark Hallpike to serve as the MAGIC Rep on the HR Search Committee for the Director of Talent Acquisition; 3) Extend the due date for the Faculty Evaluation and Tenure Handbook Committee to February 15. All three motions passed.

A motion was made electronically to extend the annual Alisa-Smith Riel Memorial Donation to her children in the amount of \$500.00 Jewel Food Store gift cards. It is not clear if the motion was seconded.

TREASURER'S REPORT: ROGER RAMEY

PRESIDENT'S REPORT: LUIS MARTINEZ

1ST VICE PRESIDENT'S REPORT: JESSICA CARPENTER

2ND VICE PRESIDENT'S REPORT: SUE FORD

3rd Vice President's Report: Heidi Brelsford

COMMITTEE REPORTS -

Negotiations- (Howard Russo)

Grievance- (Sue Ford)

COPE (Joyce Fountain)

ELECTIONS & COMMITTEE REQUESTS

• There is an opening to replace Leticia Starkov on Curriculum Committee.

- There is an opening to replace Maria Kazmi's senate seat and Snack Coordinator.
- Tim Anderson has volunteered to serve on the ECCFA Elections Committee.
- There is a request by Dr. McGee for the following faculty members to serve on the Math Faculty Search Committee: Terri Martin as MAGIC Rep, Nicole Scherger, Chalyce Deterding, Dan Kernler, Ken Benyon, Naima Bahaji, Catherine Moushon, and Gary Grohs.

OLD BUSINESS

• ECCFA Bulletin Board (ECCFA Contract, Article II. 2.4)

NEW BUSINESS

- The Illinois Community College Faculty Association is accepting applications for Research & Workshop Grants through April, 2015. (Refer to addendum for the application.)
- ECCFA Brochure (Jessica Carpenter)

DIVISION ISSUES

Adjournment:

NEXT MEETING: January 14, 2015

2015 SPRING SEMESTER

Thursday, January 8, Convocation & Opening Day All Faculty Meeting

Monday, January 12, Classes Begin

Wednesday, January 14, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, January 28, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, February 11, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, February 25, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, March 11, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Monday, March 23- Sunday, March 29, Spring Break

Wednesday, April 1, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, April 15, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, April 29, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, May 13, ECCFA Meeting 3:00-5:00, C-120

Wednesday, May 13, Semester Ends

Thursday, May 14, Grading Day

Friday, May 15, GED Graduation

Saturday, May 16, Graduation

Committee Reports

Faculty Development Committee (Marta Walz)

The application deadline for Sabbaticals is January 30, 2015.

4 sabbatical will be awarded to eligible full-time faculty (2 academic semester and 2 summer semester). Additionally, 2 sabbaticals will be awarded to eligible unit adjunct faculty that can be taken during an academic semester or year.