



SENATE MEETING AGENDA

APRIL 2, 2014
3:00 PM – 5:00 PM, ROOM C-120

Call to Order at - Howard Russo, Vice- President

ROLL CALL:

LAUREN ANDERKO, RICK BONNOM, MICHELE BRYNELSEN, JESSICA CARPENTER, MARY ELFRING, SUE FORD, CINDY HUTMAN, DAN KOCHER, DAVID LAWRENCE, CHRISTINA MARROCCO, LUIS MARTINEZ, LORETTA MCCALLISTER, GARY NORDEN, PATRICIA O'BRIEN, MARY O'SULLIVAN, JOEL PECK, WARREN PETO, ROGER RAMEY, DAVID REICH, HOWARD RUSSO, ELEANOR SWANSON, KIMBERLY TARVER, SCOTT VASZILY, CASSANDRA WATSON, TAMMY RAY (WEB MASTER)

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS & GUESTS

REPORTS – Written Reports submitted are included at the end of the agenda.

SECRETARY'S REPORT: KIMBERLY TARVER- APPROVAL OF MARCH 12, 2014 MEETING MINUTES

TREASURER'S REPORT: GARY NORDEN PRESIDENT'S REPORT: LUIS MARTINEZ

"Faculty Development and CETL Proposal Review Committee" request from Sandi Brown via Carlen Vire-Smith, stating that the following faculty members have expressed an interest in serving on the committee- Ginger Alms, Sarah Dye, Rachana Misraraj, Elizabeth McNulty. Luis believes we need to discuss this in the senate as, once again, we are not being asked to provide the names of those willing to serve so we can ask the entire faculty, but instead, we are given names to approve or rubber stamp.

1ST VICE PRESIDENT'S REPORT: HOWARD RUSSO 2ND VICE PRESIDENT'S REPORT: SUE FORD

3RD VICE PRESIDENT'S REPORT: CASSANDRA WATSON

COMMITTEE REPORTS - (refer to reports submitted included on the agenda)

Elections and Committees

Faculty Development and CETL Proposal Review Committee" request from Sandi Brown via Carlen Vire-Smith, stating that the following faculty members have expressed an interest in serving on the committee- Ginger Alms, Sarah Dye, Rachana Misraraj, Elizabeth McNulty.

OLD BUSINESS

- 1. Back Pack Event Donation Request (Rick Bonnom)
- 2. Congratulations! Sabbaticals were awarded to Sara Baker, Assistant Professor II of English, Spring 2015 Semester, Elizabeth Becker, Profess II of Biology Summer 2014 Semester, and Parul Raval Assistant Professor II of Education Spring 2015 Semester

3. Congratulations! Tenure was granted to Chalyce Deterding, Instructor of Mathematics, Janet Whitsitt, Instructor of Biology, and Chrystie Wojcik, Instructor of Culinary Arts & Hospitality

New Business

DIVISION ISSUES

ADJOURNMENT

NEXT MEETING: April 16, 2014

ECCFA Important Dates

April 30, 2014, ECCFA Senate Meeting, Library C-120, 3:00-5:00 PM

May 14, 2014, ECCFA Senate Meeting, Library C-120, 3:00-5:00 PM

May 15, 2014, Semester Ends

May 16, 2014 ESL/GED Graduation

May 17, 2014, Commencement

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Faculty Development Committee, Beth Santell

Three group proposals were approved for the 2014 Spring Semester

Three Sabbaticals were approved, 2 semester and 1 summer as well as approved by the Board of Trustees.

Final day for submission of individual and alternate lane proposal request for this semester is Monday April 28, 2014.

Sentinel, Lori Clark

The next issue of the Sentinel will be published on Monday, April 14. The deadline for submissions is Thursday, April 10. Please send along any stories or photos that you may have. We also need someone who is willing to contribute to the column, "Union is a Family Tradition." Please contact me with any questions you might have. I look forward to your submissions.

MAGIC, Kimberly Tarver & Clark Hallpike

The April 7 meeting will feature discussion of experiences and new learning from The 2014 White Privilege Conference. The meeting will be held at 3:00 in the Alumni Room.

Wednesday, April 16, Dr. David Stovall will present, "Brown v. Board of Education: 60 Years Later" in the Spartan Auditorium, 11:00-12:30.

Thursday, April 17, Magic is partnering with Muslim Student Association and Student Life to present "Unveiled", a one women play, written and performed by Rohina Malik, 11:00-12:15 in the Spartan Auditorium.

Thursday, April 24, 6:00-9:00 PM, Magic is partnering with the Elgin Community Network, Gail Borden Public Library District, and Elgin International City of Peace to present a screening of the documentary, "The Interrupters" followed by question and answer discussion with Ameena Matthews. Ms. Matthews is featured in the documentary.

Magic is reviewing a draft of bylaws under the leadership of Patrick Gordon.

ECCFA Scholarship Committee, Beverly Augustine

- 1. Committee members have verified their willingness to serve. Members are Marilyn Binda, Clark Hallpike, and Jason Kane.
- 2. Currently, there are only two applicants. That is several fewer than in past years, most likely because the Faculty now has an endowed fund; therefore, Faculty Association Scholarships are awarded through the ECC Foundation. I, myself, referred two applicants to the Foundation before I received confirmation that the Faculty Association, indeed, was awarding scholarships this year.
- 3. The committee will extend the deadline for applications. Please encourage faculty members to help eligible students apply. Any student with a 3.0 GPA who graduated in Dec. 2013 or who will graduate in May or August of 2014 is eligible. An application form is attached. The deadline for application is April 18, 2014.

Elgin Community College Faculty Association

Scholarship Application

GPA		
	City	
Graduation Date		
Associate in Applied Science	Associate in Arts	Associate in
Associ	iate in Liberal Studies	Associate in Fine
ng Science		
	GPAGraduation Date Associate in Applied Science Assoc	

Two \$250 Awards for Scholarships will be granted by the faculty Senate, one to a vocational degree student and one to a transfer degree student. To be considered for the scholarship, you must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0 and have graduated in December 2013, or will be graduating May 2014 or August 2014 with an Associate in Applied Science, an Associate in Arts, an Associate in Science, an Associate in Engineering Science, an Associate in Liberal Studies, or an Associate in Fine Arts degree.

Submit this <u>completed application</u>, a <u>250-350 word essay</u> describing how ECC has helped you achieve your educational, professional, and/or personal goals, and <u>a letter of recommendation</u> from an ECC faculty member in your major area of study to Bev Augustine (ECCFA Scholarship Committee Chair), HBT 112 or to <u>baugustine@elgin.edu</u> by <u>March 31</u>, <u>2014</u>. April 18, 2014.

1700 Spartan Drive § Elgin, IL 60123 § FAX (847) 622-3060